Simplicity of Heart

When I was a little girl, I loved living on our farm.  I would follow my daddy around while he tended the animals, or planted the crops.  I loved being outside, and never minded getting my hands dirty.  I was about 6 years old when daddy decided to go north. He couldn’t make a living on the farm anymore, so he was going to the bigger city life so that he could better provide for our family.  I hated the city life.  I never fit in.  I thank the Lord I was surrounded by my southern family, but when around most city folk I just realized quickly that I was very different.  I missed the farm.  I missed the slower life, so when given the opportunity to move back home, we did.  I’ve never regretted moving back, and love the more simple life that I live.  I know what it’s like to live with lots of money, and I know what it’s like to have nothing.  I’ve learned so many precious lessons in living the simple life, but it’s the best way to live for me.

I know there are people chasing the American dream.  The bigger, and fancier house, the brand new car,  and a house that inside everything matches.  My mother chased that dream for a while, and she found it was empty.  While chasing that dream, you lose out on so much.  Your children grow up without a parent, because you have to work so many hours to keep up with the cost.  You wake up one morning and your children don’t have time for you anymore.  Why should they?  You never instilled the importance of family time in their lives.  Life passes by so quickly, and the most important part of life is our loved ones.  Spending valuable and precious time creating lifelong memories with our children, and grandchildren, so that when  we are gone, they are left with strong values, and beautiful memories.  This is what we should be busy building.  Life is to precious to waste it trying to keep up with the Jones’.

It seems as if it were yesterday when I followed my daddy around that farm, but it’s been almost 4o years ago.  The years are passing pretty quickly, and my heart is drawn more and more to the simple life.  Silver and gold pass away, but what we build toward our eternity will stand forever!

 

(c) Angie Counter *Beyond The Scars Ministries* 2017 All Rights Reserved

Author: angiecounter

I am happily married to my best friend for 25 years. We both love the Lord Jesus with all of our heart. I sing lead/ play rhythm guitar in a bluegrass gospel group. My husband plays mandolin. I love to write devotions, songs, poems, stories. I write anything God puts on my heart. My mother says I have been writing songs even before I could write with a pen, I'd sing them on cassette tape, my own words and melody. Then when I could write, the journey began... I love you Jesus thank you for this gift! :) We also have two awesome blessings a daughter 24 and a son 23, that I thank the Lord for every day! They are precious gifts from Him, and I am honored and blessed to be their mother. We have two wonderful grand children who are the light in our life, and a true gift from our heavenly Father!

Leave a Reply

