He Is The Vine

“Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.”  John 15:5

As I read this scripture, I think about how we are entering into planting season.  What little winter we had here in the part of Tennessee where I live is slowly fading into spring.  Soon the farmers will be planting their crops, as will my husband and I plant a small garden where we can eat fresh fruit and vegetables from our harvest.  We will pray over the soil to be blessed by the Lord, so that we can grow a bountiful crop.  Everything in our life needs to be blessed by the Lord, and if it isn’t, we need no part of it.  He is the vine.  He is the main source of our sustenance.  We are the branches, which are connected to the vine, THROUGH relationship.  If we are not connected to the vine, nothing in our lives will be blessed.  We will live in a state where we bare no fruit, good for nothing.

I want my life to be a reflection of that connection.

Lately I have been so dissatisfied with the world around me.  I find that most people are complacent, and as I grow more and more hungry for a fresh anointing and move of God, I desire to be around those who are hungry like I am.  Nothing is more discouraging than going out to eat with a friend while wanting a double cheeseburger, and watching them eat a small fry because they are not hungry.  I can’t help but laugh at this as I write, but it is true.  I know that I have friends who go to eat with me and feel discouraged when I order a salad.  I don’t do it because I’m not hungry, I usually order a salad because it’s on my safe list from my autoimmune disease.  I would love nothing more than a double cheeseburger.  *smile*

Oh there is a powerful message in this passage this morning.  The powerful connection of being a branch connected to the vine.  I want nothing more than to be connected to God, so that the mighty power of His spirit flows through me.  I believe in moving in the anointing of God, using the spiritual gifts He so graciously gives.  So my desire is to be connected to Him so that I can see God move mightily in my life, and the lives of those around me.

(c) Angie Counter 2017 *Beyond The Scars Ministries* All Rights Reserved

Author: angiecounter

I am happily married to my best friend for 25 years. We both love the Lord Jesus with all of our heart. I sing lead/ play rhythm guitar in a bluegrass gospel group. My husband plays mandolin. I love to write devotions, songs, poems, stories. I write anything God puts on my heart. My mother says I have been writing songs even before I could write with a pen, I'd sing them on cassette tape, my own words and melody. Then when I could write, the journey began... I love you Jesus thank you for this gift! :) We also have two awesome blessings a daughter 24 and a son 23, that I thank the Lord for every day! They are precious gifts from Him, and I am honored and blessed to be their mother. We have two wonderful grand children who are the light in our life, and a true gift from our heavenly Father!

Leave a Reply

