Casting Our Nets

“So it was, as the multitude pressed about Him to hear the word of God, that He stood by the Lake of Gennesaret,  and saw two boats standing by the lake; but the fishermen had gone from them and were washing their nets.  Then He got into one of the boats, which was Simon’s, and asked him to put out a little from the land. And He sat down and taught the multitudes from the boat. When He had stopped speaking, He said to Simon, “Launch out into the deep and let down your nets for a catch.” But Simon answered and said to Him, “Master, we have toiled all night and caught nothing; nevertheless at Your word I will let down the net.”  And when they had done this, they caught a great number of fish, and their net was breaking.  So they signaled to their partners in the other boat to come and help them. And they came and filled both the boats, so that they began to sink.  When Simon Peter saw it, he fell down at Jesus’ knees, saying, “Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord!” For he and all who were with him were astonished at the catch of fish which they had taken;  and so also were James and John, the sons of Zebedee, who were partners with Simon. And Jesus said to Simon, “Do not be afraid. From now on you will catch men.”  So when they had brought their boats to land, they forsook all and followed Him.” Luke 5:1-11

 

As I read this passage, I could see a picture of the importance of doing things God’s way.  We can work all day long, day after day, trying to do things in our own strength and the way we believe it needs to be done. It is only until we truly submit our lives to God and allow him to lead us, our lives will become full of the abundance God has for us.  We wear ourselves out doing what we think is right, never really considering that God wants us to go deeper in our revelation of Him, in order to bring forth the abundance.  In the depth of God’s word and presence we will find the tools that will better equip us in bringing sinners to repentance, and restoration for the broken.  In the deep water with God we will find a truth that we would never find in the shallow water alone.

      Jesus was there that day to teach the people a very important lesson.  They had all gathered there, pressed in, and was ready to hear what he had to say.  Jesus looked over and saw the two boats resting in the water, so he got into the one boat and asked Simon to take him out into the water.  (one very important part of this passage is that Peter would have never been able to catch the abundant amount of fish without Jesus with Him, the Lord’s presence is key in experiencing an abundant life.)  He began to reveal to them a very important part of their Christian walk.  He looked at Simon and said, “cast your net into the deep water to catch some fish”.  Simon was tired, they had stayed up all night trying to catch fish, and they had caught nothing.   Even though Simon was doubtful and tired, he wanted to see what Jesus was going to do.  As soon as they dropped their nets into the deep water, they began catching so many fish that their nets were too heavy and were breaking.  The fish were so many that the boats were too heavy and began to sink. Once they stopped trying to catch the fish their way, and began doing it God’s way, what transpired was exceeding and abundantly more than they could ever think possible.  When Simon Peter gained true revelation of this, he fell down at the feet of Jesus knowing that he had not been doing things the way Jesus had planned.

I remember when I was a young girl and my dad wanted me to sing Country music.  We packed up and headed to Nashville to record two songs on a 45.  We finished the recording, came back home, and tried to find radio stations to play the songs.  I appeared on a cable program, auditioned for star search, and sang in talent shows at night in the clubs.  No matter what we done, or how hard we labored, nothing happened that would launch me into fame.  There was always something missing when I’d get up there to sing those songs, it felt as if a part of me was lost, and nothing I was doing has helping me find it.  I was a very miserable young woman, and I always found the nets in my life empty… no matter how I’d try to cast them out, they’d always come back with nothing.  Then one day I gave my heart and life back to the Lord, and began to sing Gospel music.  The moment I stood in front of people singing a song of praise, I was casting my nets into the depth of God’s spirit, and what I found was something that I’d never found in the world.  My nets were full…  I wasn’t trying to do things my own way any longer, I was doing what God created me to do, and the revelation of this sent me just like Simon Peter, to my knees in deep revelation and repentance.

Any time we try to do things our own way it will always come back void, but when we do things God’s way it will always exceed what we could ever imagine possible.  This is true in all aspects of our lives.  This is why it is so important as I stated earlier that we always take Jesus along our every moment journey.  If we try to do anything and I emphasize the word “ANYTHING” without Jesus we will ALWAYS find emptiness in return.  Casting our nets out into the world alone, we will labor and come back exhausted, broken and alone.  Casting our nets out into the world with Jesus we will be refreshed, restored, and find rest in his arms.

 

Where are you casting your nets?  What are you pulling back from them?

 

I had come through a very hard time in my life, and the harder it got the more I found myself walking alone.  I had allowed lies to overpower my mind, telling me that God had stopped loving me because of my weakness.  I was drifting on the waters of life, in a boat alone. I hadn’t back-slidden, I’d back-stepped.  I stepped back away from allowing the hand of God to lead me, because I’d believed he saw my weakness and depression as failure, instead of the truth that God saw it as brokenness and need.    I’d cast out my nets but the only things that came back to me were bitterness, depression, insecurity, self-condemnation, brokenness and heartbreak.  This went on for such a very long time.  I’d go out  and sing with our group, but because I’d  not allowed Jesus inside of the boat with me, I’d always feel such a horrible emptiness.  Then one day something changed.  I recognized the lies of the adversary, I stood up and confessed my weakness, and then I asked Jesus back into my life’s boat.  What I’ve experienced lately is that my nets are full, and now so full that I can go and feed others with the abundance of God’s supply.    We have to cast our nets into the depth of God’s restoring power, his love, his word, and his presence.  Then take all that he gives us there  to feed those who are starving.  Since coming out of this dark place I was in, I have seen firsthand what horrible battles God’s children are fighting in their minds.  So now what God has filled my nets with, I now can feed those who are hungry, and then they will do the same!

So today I ask you this question?  Where are you casting your nets?  If it’s not in the depth of relationship with God, then you need to stop now and allow him into your boat.  Are you bring forth abundance from what you are casting out?  If not, begin to cast your nets into God’s word, and watch as you begin to see and experience the true abundance of God.

(c) Angie Counter *Beyond The Scars Ministries* 2017 All Rights Reserved.

Author: angiecounter

I am happily married to my best friend for 25 years. We both love the Lord Jesus with all of our heart. I sing lead/ play rhythm guitar in a bluegrass gospel group. My husband plays mandolin. I love to write devotions, songs, poems, stories. I write anything God puts on my heart. My mother says I have been writing songs even before I could write with a pen, I'd sing them on cassette tape, my own words and melody. Then when I could write, the journey began... I love you Jesus thank you for this gift! :) We also have two awesome blessings a daughter 24 and a son 23, that I thank the Lord for every day! They are precious gifts from Him, and I am honored and blessed to be their mother. We have two wonderful grand children who are the light in our life, and a true gift from our heavenly Father!

Leave a Reply

